top of page

Back in Accra!

Thursday night we got back to Accra after a long drive. On the way home we stopped at a restaurant called chop shop, where they had authentic Ghanaian food, that you eat all with your hands! It was interesting haha. My favorite thing to eat here is the fruit. Anywhere you go in Ghana there is women with fruit stands selling mangos, pineapples, and bananas. They are so cheap and always around that we eat them all the time. They are my favorite because the fruit is so good! I also love getting these Ghanaian smoothies called Blue Skies. They are fresh fruit juices and smoothies and they are so good!!

The next morning in Accra we went to the temple again and I got to see a bunch of families flown in from Sierra Leone, who were getting sealed. It was so awesome to talk to them, since it was a huge deal for them to get to the temple. After the temple, we went to Osu, where there was super nice restaurants. We ate at this American cafe and I got this amazing Cobb salad!! It was so good and they had ice cream it was so nice!! It was so expensive (well for Ghanaian food, about $10 haha) but it was so worth it! After that we went to the large art market in Accra for the rest of the day. That was a crazy experience. Everyone was grabbing me and pulling me into their shop, they were so aggressive. I felt bad but you just had to ignore them since there was so many. Ben is Filipino, so he pretended to only speak Tagalog, which was pretty funny because the people kept asking us to "translate" for him. So everyone just spoke their mission languages and they kinda stopped trying to bother us. It was super fun souvenire shopping, and I got some cool African stuff! That night we were going to go dancing but a girl in out group fell into one of the storm drains and got hurt, so we ended up not going. Luckily she's okay, but you gotta watch out for the huge gutters here!

The next day we spent relaxing and just getting food, since we were exhausted from the week before. Oh and Megan and I got our hair partially cornrowed at this shop. It hurt pretty bad and I don't think they knew how to do obroni (white girl) hair haha, but it turned out good!

Today we went to church and got caught in a huge rainstorm on the way home, and got drenched but it was a good day! I've been here for a month and only have two weeks left! I have loved my time here and can't believe its already been a month. No wonder why we look so African in all our pictures haha! But I feel really comfortable here and love what I am doing. Africa is so different from the United States, but being here is so eye opening. I am so thankful for my life that is waiting for me at home. As much as I love it here, its comforting to know the luxuries and opportunities I have still back in the states. We are so blessed and I will never forget that.


bottom of page