top of page

Outreaches with Saint Thomas Eye Clinic

This week I got to work with Saint Thomas Eye Clinic. I’ve never worked with them before, and it was a lot different than the other eye clinics. Most days we would go on mini outreaches in the city of Accra. On Monday we went to a city called Akoto LanteyGar. Saint Thomas is slower than the other eye clinics so we spend a lot of time waiting or just helping a few patients. Its difficult in the heat, but it has taught me a lot of patience and I am able to really make sure the patients receive the care they need. On Tuesday we headed out to Cape Coast to go on an overnight outreach in different towns. They were extremely hot days, but we were able to work in different churches and help people who usually do not get care. That night we stayed in a guesthouse in the middle of nowhere, and found a huge cockroach in our room. I thought it was a leaf and ignored it for a couple of hours, but then soon realized it was not a leaf. The next day on an outreachI learned my lesson about eating off the streets. For a while we have been super comfortable eating off the streets so we usually buy a lot of our food that way. Its so cheap, it's hard not to do. Well this time I was in the market in the slums and bought some fruit and avocados for breakfast. When I went back to eat the avocado I had eaten a few pieces and soon discovered there was maggots on the side of my avocado. It was the most disgusting thing!! Luckily my friend was there to make sure I didn't cry because there was one on my hand as well. I don't think I ate any, but it was horrifying. I learned to be more careful where I eat my food off the street, and now mostly just eat the pineapples and mangos. Later that day after we finished working we had the opportunity to tour the Cape Coast slave castle. It was a little eerie being in the dungeons where they kept the slaves, but it was interesting to see. I learned a lot about the history of the slave trade. It was interesting because I was able to tour a slave camp in Paga about 12 hours away earlier in the trip. This salve camp was where they would keep the slaves from far away and different countries and make them walk to the Cape Coast castle. I couldn't even imagine having to endure something so awful and being treated so horribly. I just don't understand how humans could be so cruel to each other. Despite the horrible purpose of the slave castle they were surrounded by the ocean, so we got to see an awesome sunset! After that we enjoyed the beach and drove back home.

On Thursday we went to the Saint Thomas Clinic and were able to shadow Dr. Jesse and his staff do surgeries. The doctors are awesome and I am able to learn so much from them!

Overall it was another great week and I can't believe I only have a little over a week left! Time has really flown by!


bottom of page